

South Carolina House of Representatives Legislative Oversight Committee

Chair Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson

William H. Bailey Gary S. Brewer, Jr. April Cromer Kambrell H. Garvin Leon Douglas "Doug" Gilliam Thomas Duval "Val" Guest, Jr.

> Lewis Carter Research Director

William M. "Bill" Hixon Joseph H. "Joe" Jefferson, Jr. Wendell Keith Jones Roger K. Kirby Josiah Magnuson John R. McCravy, III

First Vice-Chair Chris Wooten

Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis Adam M. Morgan Travis A. Moore Russell L. Ott Marvin R. Pendarvis Marvin "Mark" Smith

Roland Franklin Counsel/Associate General Counsel for Litigation

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Riley E. McCullough Research Analyst

MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, February 23, 2023 12:00 p.m., Blatt Room 110

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 4.7, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

 The public input meeting of the House Legislative Oversight Committee was called to order by Chairman Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson All members of the Committee were present for all or a portion of the meeting, except: Representative John McCravy.

Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.
- II. Representative Russell Ott makes a motion to approve the meeting minutes from the December 7, 2022, meeting. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building

Rep. Ott's motion to approve the minutes from the December 7, 2022 meeting	Yea	Nay	Not Voting/Not Present
Rep. Bailey	\checkmark		
Rep. Brewer	\checkmark		
Rep. Cromer			Not Present
Rep. Garvin	\checkmark		
Rep. Gilliam	\checkmark		
Rep. Guest	\checkmark		
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Jefferson	✓		
Rep. Johnson	✓		
Rep. Jones	✓		
Rep. Kirby	✓		
Rep. Magnuson			Not Present
Rep. McCravy			Not Present
Rep. McGinnis	✓		
Rep. Morgan			Not Present
Rep. Moore	✓		
Rep. Ott	✓		
Rep. Pendarvis			Not Present
Rep. Smith	✓		
Rep. Wooten	✓		

Public Input

- I. Chairman Johnson stated that the purpose of this meeting was to hear public testimony regarding the Department of Consumer Affairs and the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED).
- II. Members of the public provided testimony about the Department of Consumer Affairs and SLED. Constituent testimony and Committee minutes summarizing testimony are not the comments or expression of the House Legislative Oversight Committee, any of its Subcommittees, the House of Representatives, or any of these entities' staff.

Before each person testifies, Chairman Jeffrey Johnson administered an oath to the person. Below are the names of each person who testified and the time in the archived video at which the testimony begins. The testimony is grouped by agency.

State Law Enforcement Division

Newberry County Sheriff Lee Foster (00:12:48) Columbia Chief of Police Skip Holbrook (00:18:29) SLED Chief Mark Keel (00:33:00)

Department of Consumer Affairs

Mr. Joseph Cecil (01:19:22) – provided written materials
Mr. Kip Kaiser (1:25:52)
Mr. Sims Floyd, (01:42:16) – provided written materials
Ms. Karyn Heimes (02:02:06)
Mr. David Walters, Jr. (02:38:00)
Mr. Fred Caldwell (02:47:10)
Mr. Derial Ogburn (03:03:40) – provided written materials
Department of Consumer Affairs Advocacy Director and Deputy Consumer Advocate Roger Hall (03:09:24) – provided written materials

Adjournment

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.